Brownies

I love brownies, there’s no way of getting round it. A good brownie can really be the star of the show. It’s gooey, chocolaty and just all round delicious.

I used to be shockingly awful at brownies. I would drastically over-cook them which resulted in dry, cakey brownies. Nobody likes cakey brownies… do they? But since I’ve come across this new method they have been perfect every time so I’m going to pass it along to you.

brownies 1
Un-baked

It was shockingly hot today, well shockingly hot for England that is. So I decided to take advantage of the good weather and take a walk into town with my Pokémon app (yeah I’m a geek, get over it). While I was in town I stopped off to get myself a drink and found myself staring at the baking section hoping for inspiration, that’s when my eyes fell upon the white chocolate drops and I knew what I wanted to do. Half an hour later and I was back in my kitchen with all the necessary ingredients for brownie making.

The technique that is going to be the most time consuming here is called a sabayon, it was used a lot in my patisserie course and really can transform dishes. A sabayon is where eggs and sugar are whisked together over heat until they reach ribbon stage (where a trail of mixture from the whisks holds its shape for 8 seconds). Now this technique may seem like a bit of a faff and maybe it is, but it creates the most wonderful texture when the brownies have come out of the oven and cooled off.

 

One of the great things about brownies is how versatile they are, any flavour combinations that work well with chocolate will work well in these brownies. whether that be Orange, peanut butter, salted caramel or dare I say more chocolate it will work well in a brownie and as long as you don’t alter the batter it should turn out well. I have found there are two great ways of incorporating these flavours, number one is adding a layer of something in the middle, peanut butter works particularly well for this but I’ve also used a caramel sauce and sprinkled with sea salt which was delicious. The second best way of incorporating flavours is to sprinkle things on the top, blocks of flavoured chocolates or nuts work best for this and it also looks amazing.

brownies 2

 

Chocolate Brownies

-330g Butter
-330g Dark chocolate
-150g Plain flour
-50g Cocoa powder
-6 eggs
-450g Caster sugar

  1. Preheat your oven to 160 degrees centigrade
  2. Break your chocolate into a bowl and add the butter
  3. Melt the chocolate and butter and set aside to cool. You can do this in the microwave or over a pan of boiling water, DO NOT get any water in the mixture.
  4. Sift the flour and cocoa powder onto a sheet of greaseproof paper. You will need to have this ready for the sabayon
  5. Put a pot of water on to boil and find a large bowl that fits comfortably on the pot, the bowl must not touch the water
  6. Whisk the sugar and eggs in the bowl above the boiling water until it is very pale and has reached ribbon stage, this can take a while and is best done with an electric whisk.
  7. Fold in the cooled chocolate mixture with a large metal spoon
  8. Fold in the flour and cocoa powder.
  9. Poor into a greased and lined tin
  10. Bake for 30-40 minutes, or until a cocktail stick inserted into the middle comes out with a few moist crumbs clinging to it.
  11. Let your brownies cool completely before you cut them into squares, it can be quite a difficult wait but you will thank yourself when you are cutting them up.
Leave a Reply

